USU Extension
Salt Lake County Office

Salt Lake 4-h programVisit USU Extension Salt Lake County 4-H

 
COVID-19 Procedures
Due to COVID-19 concerns we are requesting that our clients contact us via phone or email and not come to our physical location for assistance.

Follow Us/Subscribe

How We Can Help

USU Extension offers expertise and pertinent information specific to the needs of our county

Salt Lake County is a very diverse and urban county, and therefore there isn't much traditional agriculture occuring. However, there has been a large increase in urban agricultural practices, including small plot farming, backyard chickens and bees, and general gardening.  USU Extension provides a wealth of resources for those just staring out, or seasoned urban farmers - check out the resources below or call our office for more information.

Wildlife in the City?

Placeholder Image

Salt Lake County is in a prime residential and recreational location due to our close proximity to undeveloped and rural areas. However, with outdoor recreation becoming increasingly popular, and a large urban – wildlife interface in our communities, there's an increased risk of human-wildlife interactions and a rise in citizens concerned about how to be safe in these areas. As Utah continues to grow, and as humans and wildlife compete for space, the number of human-wildlife conflicts will only increase.

As a partners on the Wild Aware Utah program, USU Extension experts assist in providing information and resources aimed at creating awareness throughout Utah that will foster new attitudes towards wildlife and motivate behavior changes in people, resulting in minimizing conflicts with Utah wildlife.

More Information

Utah Urban and Small Farms Conference/Diversified Agriculture Consortium

diverseag

The Urban and Small Farms Conference is a two day multi track professional conference for urban and small acreage growers held in mid to late February each year.  The conference focuses on berry and fruit production, vegetable production, direct marketing, business resources, local food programs, and federal and state agency resources, to help Utah farmers and producers build better businesses. 

More Information

Salt Lake County Urban Farming Program

Check out resources and information on Urban Farming provided by our partners at Salt Lake County.

More Information

Agricultural Resources

The links below offer additional information via partner websites and USU Extension Fact Sheets. 

Utah State University Extension-Salt Lake County offers a wide array of resources to strengthen and enrich your life. We focus on how individuals and families obtain and use resources such as money, time, human capital, material resources, and community services. By exploring relationships between individuals, families and the economy we see the impact that public issues, policies and programs have on family economic well-being.

From food to family finance to relationships, our experts can help!

To join, login, register for events, or volunteer please visit 4h.zsuite.org or for more information visit USU Extension Salt Lake County 4-H

USU Extension Salt Lake County Contact Information

 

Salt Lake County
Housing
Finance
Stacy Abbott
Directory
Stacy Abbott

Stacy Abbott

Program Coordinator- Housing Education | Housing and Finance | Salt Lake County

(801)-477-7391

stacy.abbott@usu.edu

Salt Lake County
Directory
Sage Allen
Sage Allen

Sage Allen

Program Coordinator | Salt Lake County

(385)-468-4817

sage.allen@usu.edu

HOFF
martha archuleta
expert
Directory
Specialist
Salt Lake County
nutrition
HEWE
health & wellness
Martha Archuleta

Martha Archuleta

Nutrition, Health & Wellness Specialist

435-797-4230

martha.archuleta@usu.edu

Salt Lake County
Shauna Bagley
Directory
Shauna Bagley

Shauna Bagley

Staff Assistant | Salt Lake County

(385) 468-4835

shauna.bagley@usu.edu

Directory
Sunny Bird
Salt Lake County
placeholder image

Sunny Bird

Staff Assistant | Salt Lake County

(385)-468-4820

sunny.bird@usu.edu

Salt Lake County
Meggan Callister
Directory
Meggan Callister

Meggan Callister

Program Coordinator | Salt Lake County

(385)-468-4833

meggan.schulze@usu.edu

Amy Campbell
Directory
heart
Salt Lake County
Amy Campbell

Amy Campbell

Peer Support Services Project Coordinator | Salt Lake County

385-468-4836

amy.campbell@usu.edu

EFW
Salt Lake County
home and community
Jerevie Canlas
family finance
Directory
Jerevie Canlas

Jerevie Canlas

Program Coordinator | Salt Lake County

jerevie.canlas@usu.edu

Lhaksam Choedon
Directory
Salt Lake County
Lhaksam Choedon

Lhaksam Choedon

Program Coordinator | Salt Lake County

(801)-859-1958

lhaksam.choedon@usu.edu

Directory
Ginger Dalde
Salt Lake County
Ginger Dalde

Ginger Dalde

Program Coordinator | Salt Lake County

(385) 468-4824

ginger.dalde@usu.edu

Beckie Hales
Salt Lake County
Directory
State 4-H
junior master gardener
Specialist
Directory
Salt Lake County
expert
Deborah Ivie
STEM
Deborah Ivie

Deborah Ivie

STEM and Junior Master Gardener Specialist

(801) 300-5680

deborah.ivie@usu.edu

canning
Preparedness
HOFF
Salt Lake County
nutrition county
Directory
food preservation
Melanie Jewkes
expert
homeandcomm
EFW
Melanie Jewkes

Melanie Jewkes

Extension Associate Professor | Family & Consumer Sciences | Salt Lake County

385-468-4838

melanie.jewkes@usu.edu

Directory
Anjalika Mohanty
Salt Lake County
4-H
leadership and civics
State 4-H
Salt Lake County
expert
Vernon Parent
Specialist
Directory
Vernon Parent

Vernon Parent

Leadership and Civics Specialist

(385) 468-4832

vernon.parent@usu.edu

aware central
Lisa Schainker
aware staff
homeandcomm
relationship experts
mentalhealthteam
healthwellness
Salt Lake County
Directory
Lisa Schainker

Lisa Schainker

Extension Assistant Professor | Salt Lake County

385-468-4816

lisa.schainker@usu.edu

EFW
Vincenza Vicari-Bentley
personal finance
Salt Lake County
home and community
Directory
aware central
Salt Lake County
physicalhealthteam
relationship experts
Directory
health and wellness
mentalhealthteam
heart
Tooele County
Maren Voss
healthwellness
homeandcomm
aware staff
Maren Voss

Maren Voss

Professional Practice Extension Assistant Professor | Health and Wellness | HEART Initiative | Salt Lake & Tooele Counties

385-468-4841

maren.voss@usu.edu

Katie Wagner
expert
Directory
horticulture
gardening
ag-nat
Salt Lake County
Katie  Wagner

Katie Wagner

Extension Associate Professor | Horticulture | Salt Lake County

(385) 468-4826

katie.wagner@usu.edu

Andree Walker
Salt Lake County
Directory
ag-nat
Administration
Andree Walker

Andree Walker

Director of County Operations | Salt Lake County Director

(385)-468-4825

andree.walker@usu.edu

Kaitlin Waters
Salt Lake County
Directory
create better health
Kaitlin Waters

Kaitlin Waters

Create Better Health Ambassador | Create Better Health Utah (SNAP-Ed) | Salt Lake County

(385) 468-4840

Kaitlin.Waters@usu.edu

Salt Lake County
Directory
Katie Weber
placeholder image

Katie Weber

Staff Assistant | FCS | Salt Lake County

(385)-468-4822

katie.weber@usu.edu

Salt Lake County
Peter Wecker
Directory
placeholder image

Peter Wecker

Program Coordinator | Salt Lake County

(801)-598-3827

peter.wecker@usu.edu

Ann Woodbury
Salt Lake County
Directory

USU Extension Salt Lake County Events

Search Calendar
Select Calendar Date
Filter Events
Select Calendar View