The Utah Marriage Education Discount (MED)

Engaged Utah couples can get the Marriage Education Discount ($20 OFF their Utah marriage license fee) when they complete approved marriage education or counseling and apply for their marriage license online. Here's how it works:

1

Complete Approved Course or Premarital Counseling

Complete 6 hours of approved marriage education or 3 hours of premarital counseling. Click here to take a FREE online ePREP course. Here is a list of other free courses, or see if your college course qualifies!
2

Time Frame

Education or counseling must take place not more than one year before but at least 14 days before the day your marriage license is issued.
3

Online MED Certification Form

Ask your instructor/counselor to complete the online MED Certification Form. You'll get a certificate and discount code sent to you via email.
4

Fill Out Online Marriage License Applicaiton

Fill out an ONLINE Utah marriage license application and enter your discount code. Currently, anyone from any county can get their marriage license completely online within minutes through the Utah County system. Get your marriage license completely online!
5

Get Discount

Get your $20 discount!
6

Use Discount Code to Save

Use your discount code to save $$$ on wedding products and services from participating vendors! Check out our participating vendors and their offered discounts!

For more information, see our MED FAQ below , FAQs for providers of premarital counseling or education, or email us at marriagecommission@usu.edu

The Utah Marriage Education Discount (MED) FAQ

What is MED?

When an engaged couple completes approved marriage education or counseling AND applies for their marriage license online, the Utah Marriage Education Discount (MED) takes $20 OFF their Utah Marriage License fees. MED also gives couples great discounts on wedding products and services from participating vendors.


How do I get the MED?

Complete the the required hours of premarital education or counseling and ask your educator or counselor to submit the online MED Certification Form. You'll receive an email with your certificate and discount code. Enter your discount code into your online marriage license application to get your $20 discount. Show the certificate to participating wedding vendors to save even more money on your big day!

Currently, anyone from any county can get their marriage license completely online and apply the MED discount through Utah County. Click HERE to learn more!


Where can I find MED classes?

Community Classes

  • Check our calendar on for a class being offered near you
  • Ask your local religious leader if they offer a qualifying premarital course
  • Check out our list of Approved MED Providers

Online

ePREP Love Takes Learning is online relationship education course approved by the Utah Marriage Commission. Engaged Utah couples can receive a code to take this course for FREE by registering HERE.

University Courses

Check our list of college and university courses that meet MED requirements.


Who can provide education or counseling to couples?

Providers of approved marriage education can include:

  • Certified Family Life Educators
  • Licensed Family and Consumer Sciences Educators
  • Instructors approved by a qualifying premarital education curriculum

Providers of approved marriage education can include:

  • A licensed mental health professional as identified by law and the Utah Division of Professional Licensing
  • A licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee who is trained by the minister or denomination to conduct premarital counseling or education

Click here for virtual premarital counseling options


What are the marriage education requirements?

Marriage Education Requirements

  • Couples must complete at least 6 hours of approved premarital education
  • Curriculum must include information on important factors associated with strong and healthy marriages, including: 
    • Commitment in marriage
    • Effective communication
    • Problem-solving skills
    • Avoiding violence and abuse in the relationship

What are the premarital counseling requirements?

Providers of approved premarital counseling include:

  • A licensed mental health professional as identified by law and the Utah Division of Professional Licensing
  • A licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee who is trained by the minister or denomination to conduct premarital counseling or education

I’m a provider of marriage education. How do I find out if my curriculum is approved?

  • Check our list of approved marriage education curriculum
  • If your curriculum is not on the list, send an email with your curriculum to marriagecommission@usu.edu. We'll review it and get back to you.