Utah One Health Symposium

Unexpected Consequences

Select Mondays from 3-5 p.m. MDT

The special focus of the 2021 Symposium will be on the unexpected consequences of the connections between human, animal, and environmental health, while exploring the impact of emerging disease on communities and individuals.


Agenda

*** Please note that this schedule is tentative ***

Time 3:00-3:15 p.m.

Welcome Address by Governor Cox

Time 3:15-4:00 p.m.

Keynote Address: How the COVID Pandemic Can Create Security for the Next Crisis
Speaker: Dr. Angela Dunn

Time 4:00-4:45 p.m.

Topic: Bats and Their Role in Emerging Zoonoses
Speakers: Dr. Brian Amman, Dr. Jonathan Towner

Time 4:45-5:00 p.m.

Q&A

Time 3:00-4:00 p.m.

Topic: Animals in Disasters
Speaker: Warren Hess

Time 4:00-5:00 p.m.

Topic: Rabies in Utah
Speaker: Hannah Rettler

Time 3:00-4:00 p.m.

Topic: Animal Control in the Face of a Pandemic
Speakers: Sydney Larabee, Ian Williams

Time 4:00-5:00 p.m.

Topic: Salmonella Outbreaks in Backyard Chickens
Speaker: Delaney Moore

Time 3:00-4:00 p.m.

Topic: The Unified Airway – How Allergies, Asthma, and Sinusitis Relate
Speaker: Lindsay Humes, PA-C

Time 4:00-5:00 p.m.

Topic: Wild Bees in Utah
Speaker: Dr. Joe Wilson



Committee

Nancy Arbon
Customer Relations Manager
Utah Public Health Laboratory
narbon@utah.gov

Linda Bogdanow, BS, LEHS
Epidemiology Supervisor
Salt Lake County Health Department
lbogdanow@slco.org

Katie R. Brose, DVM, MPH
Veterinary Medical Officer
USDA APHIS Veterinary Services
katie.r.brose@usda.gov 

Kimberly Christensen
Bioterrorism Response Laboratory Coordinator
Deputy Chief of Infectious Disease
Select Agent Responsible Official
Utah Public Health Laboratory
kchriste@utah.gov

Rebecca Echols, DVM, MPH
At Your Door Veterinary Services, P.C.
rebeccaechols@comcast.net

Kimberly Hersey, MS
Mammal Conservation Coordinator
Utah Division of Wildlife
kimberlyasmus@utah.gov

Ryan Hill, DVM, MPH
Veterinarian
Salt Lake County Animal Services
chill@slco.org

Jane Kelly, DVM, MS, MPH, DACVPM, ACVM
Veterinary Diagnostician and Microbiologist
Central Utah Branch of the Utah Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
jane.kelly@usu.edu

William Lanier, DVM, MPH, DACVPM
Utah State Public Health Veterinarian
CDC Career Epidemiology Field Officer
wlanier@utah.gov

Paula Morgan
IHS Environmental Health Specialist
Uintah-Ouray Service Unit
paula.morgan@ihs.gov

Amanda Price
Assistant State Veterinarian
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
amandaprice@utah.gov

Hannah Rettler
Zoonotic and Vectorborne Epidemiologist
Utah Department of Health
hrettler@utah.gov

Kerry Rood, MS, DVM, MPH, DACVPM
Associate Professor
Utah State University
kerry.rood@usu.edu

Bryan Smith
Field Supervisor
Animal Care Davis County
bsmith@co.davis.ut.us

Dean Taylor
State Veterinarian
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
djtaylor@utah.gov 


Sponsors

USU School of Veterinary Medicine
University of Utah Health
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Utah Department of Health
Utah Veterinary Medical Association