Heritage Tourism

Utah Heritage Tourism Toolkit
Many communities across the world are interested in expanding, preserving, and managing their heritage resources. This process is often complex and takes time and the proper tools to accomplish these goals. This Utah Heritage Tourism Toolkit, developed by the Utah State Historical Society, Office of Preservation, is a package of practical tools that communities or groups can use to develop, manage, and protect their heritage resources.

Mormon Pioneer Heritage Area
The national designation recognizes the history, architecture, and culture along Utah Heritage Highway 89 and the Mormon Pioneer Heritage Area.  Artisans and business owners of the Utah Heritage Highway 89 Alliance welcome you to a heritage adventure that will take you through one or more of five uniquely Western heritage areas.  In each of these areas you will find heritage defined in a distinctly local way, but you will always find a delightful blend of art galleries and artisan studios, heritage lodging, western adventures, historic sites, celebrations, antiques, and indigenous foods.  Includes U.S. Highway 89 from Fairview to Kanab, the Boulder Loop (State Hwys 12 and 24), the All-American Road (State Hwy 12) and the six counties through which the route passes in Utah: Sanpete, Sevier, Piute, Wayne, Garfield and Kane.

Bear River Heritage Area
The Bear River Heritage Area straddles the Idaho-Utah border where the Great Basin and the Rocky Mountains meet.  It is home to a strong agricultural economy, history-laced landscape, and abundant natural beauty.  Retrace the footsteps of early fur traders, Mormon settlers, and generations of the Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation.  Come and experience the unique and varied cultural heritage found within the Bear River Basin of Northern Utah and Southeastern Idaho.  This website is your guide to a fascinating variety of natural, historical and cultural experiences. Let us share how this land and these people have enriched our lives.

National Heritage Areas
Provided by the National Park Service, this website has information on the twenty-three National Heritage Areas established by Congress around the country, in which conservation, interpretation and other activities are managed by partnerships among federal, state, and local governments and the private sector. The website also provides information on designation of National Heritage Areas. The National Park Service provides technical assistance as well as financial assistance for a limited number of years following designation.

Preserve America
Preserve America is a White House initiative to encourage and support community efforts for the preservation and enjoyment of cultural and natural heritage. The goals are a greater shared knowledge about the Nation's past, a strenghtened regional identity, and increased local participation in preservation efforts.

Trail of the Ancients-Utah
Explore the long and intriguing occupation of the Four Corners region by Native American peoples. Travel through the archaeological heartland of America while crossing the beautiful and diverse landscapes of the Colorado Plateau. World-renowned Mesa Verde National Park, Monument Valley Tribal Park, and Four Corners Monument are highlights on the trail.