Who We Are

The Institute of Outdoor Recreation and Tourism was founded in 1998 by the Utah State Legislature through the Recreation and Tourism Research and Extension Program Act (S.B. 35). The Institute is mandated to focus on: tourism and outdoor recreation use; the social and economic tradeoffs of tourism and outdoor recreation for local communities; and the relationship between outdoor recreation and tourism and public land management practices and policies.

The purpose of the Institute is to provide: better data for the Legislature and state agencies in their decision-making processes on issues relating to tourism and outdoor recreation; a base of information and expertise to assist community officials as they attempt to balance the economic, social, and environmental tradeoffs in tourism development; and an interdisciplinary approach of research and study on outdoor recreation and tourism, a complex sector of the state's economy.

Undergraduate and graduate students working out of the Institute participate in a variety of degree programs through USU’s Department of Environment and Society. These programs include BS and MS degrees in Recreation Resource Management, MS and PhD degrees in Environment and Society, and MS and PhD degrees in Ecology.

Leadership

iort leadership
Anna B.  Miller, Ph.D.

Anna B. Miller, Ph.D.

Assistant Director of Research and Operations

(435) 797-0795

anna.miller@usu.edu

iort leadership
Chase C. Lamborn, Ph.D.

Chase C. Lamborn, Ph.D.

Assistant Director of Visitor Use Monitoring and Management

chase.lamborn@usu.edu

iort leadership
Lisa Stoner

Lisa Stoner

Assistant Director of Outreach and Education

lisa.stoner@usu.edu

Faculty Fellows

Post-doctoral Research Associate

iort post doctoral research

Graduate Students

iort grad student
Noah Creany

Noah Creany

MS - Recreation Resource Management

noah.creany@aggiemail.usu.edu

iort grad student
Andrea Jacobs

Andrea Jacobs

MS - Recreation Resource Management

andrea.jacobs@usu.edu

iort grad student
iort grad student
Iree Wheeler

Iree Wheeler

PhD, Environment and Society

iree.wheeler@usu.edu

iort grad student
Elizabeth Depew

Elizabeth Depew

MS - Recreation Resource Management

elizabeth.depew@aggiemail.usu.edu

iort grad student
Caleb Meyer

Caleb Meyer

MS - Recreation Resource Management

caleb.meyer@usu.edu

iort grad student
Jordan  Nesbitt

Jordan Nesbitt

MS - Recreation Resource Management

jordan.nesbitt@aggiemail.usu.edu

iort grad student
Will Rempel

Will Rempel

MS - Recreation Resource Management

will.bu.rempel@gmail.com

iort grad student
Jake Richards

Jake Richards

MS - Recreation Resource Management

jake.richards@usu.edu

iort grad student
Bettina Spernbauer

Bettina Spernbauer

MS - Recreation Resource Management

bettina.spernbauer@gmail.com

Staff