## EPSILON SIGMA PHI ANNUAL MEETING

December 9, 1982 Eccles Conference Center Utah State University

The Annual Meeting of Iota Chapter, Epsilon Sigma Phi, National Honorary Extension Fraternity was called to order at 4:45 p.m. on December 9, 1982, in the Eccles Conference Center by W. Arthur Cahoon, President. Dr. Wayne Ringer gave the invocation. Dr. Wayne Rose introduced the emeriti members:

> Flora Bardwell Theta Johnson Reed Moore Morris Taylor

Amy Kearsley Darrell Stokes Lloyd Clement

Chapter Business:

With the help of Halcyon Robins, Theta Johnson, and Amy Kearsley, Arthur Cahoon conducted the initiation ceremony. Inducted into the chapter were:

Larry Bond Marilyn Noyes John Paul Murphy Keith D. Young Ned Zaugg Howard Deer Alvin Hamson R. Paul Larsen Larry Wegkamp Robert Thomson\*

\* transfer from Idaho who joined the group.

Financial Support:

A financial report was made by the secretary/treasurer. Because of limited funds it was suggested by the group that dues be increased to build a fund to meet current dues and to do special things for the organization or its members.

Arthur Higbee moved that members' State dues be raised from \$1 to \$3 and Morris Taylor moved that life members pay State dues of \$3. Both moves were seconded and passed by membership.

Financial report is attached.

Memorial ceremony was held for Velyn B. Stevens (in memorium). Velyn was a former home agent in Utah, Juab, and Tooele Counties.

Report of annual meetings was given by Flora Bardwell, Western Region Representative. She discussed national awards, change in national dues for initiation from \$3 to \$5; membership from \$5 to \$7; and life membership from \$20 to \$35. She also reported on FAIR (Fund for Assuring our Independent Retirement) and its accomplishments and the upcoming Western Regional meeting to be held in Reno in January.

Minutes - Iota Chapter -2 December 9, 1982 Other Meetings: January 1982. Reno Meeting was attended by Flora Bardwell, Director, Western Region Halcyon Robins, President, Iota Chapter Miriam Limb, Vice President, Iota Chapter Theta Johnson, Secretary/Treasurer, Iota Chapter June 14, 1982. Officers meeting was held to select nominees for national awards. Dr. J. Clark Ballard was nominated for the National Ruby Award, the highest award given by Epsilon Sigma Phi. Dr. Dennis Funk was nominated for the Regional Distinguished Service Award. Dr. William Farnsworth was nominated for the International Service Award. August 1982. Officers meeting was held to select honorees from among nominations for awards to be presented at Annual Conference. Nominations were suggested by county agents, home agents and the specialist organizations. Special Introduction. Dr. Paul Larsen was introduced to the group. This was the first chance many Emeriti had to meet Dr. Larsen. Dr. Larsen commented on his impressions of returning to Utah State University and his feeling of "Old Main" as the symbol of the Land Grant College in Utah. He expressed his appreciation for the dedication and helpfulness of Arthur Cahoon and Dennis Funk. Presentation of Awards: Presenter County Home Agent MarGenne Rowley . . . . . . . . . . . . Donna Bird County Agent Wayne Rose ••••• Verl Matthews Specialist/Administrator Arthur C. Higbee . . . . . . . . . . Dennis Funk State Friend of Extension Elna Miller Ruth Coates . . . . . . . . . . . . Paul J. Tusberg Gerald Olson . . . . . . . . . . . . Reports and Balloting: Ballots for Vice President . . . . . . . . Marva Esplin New Vice President: Miriam Limb Financial Report: Balance on hand for December 9, 1982. . . \$ 344.68 Membership: 99 paid memberships 45 paid life memberships