Contact Us

    UPCOMING EVENTS

    View full calendar

    Contact Us

     

    Washington County Office Information

    Address:
    USU Extension - Washington County
    339 S 5500 W
    Hurricane, UT 84737
    Hours:
    Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
    (Closed for Lunch 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.)
    Faculty & Staff

    Paul Hill

    Paul Hill

    County Director

    Extension Associate Professor

    435-634-2691 | Cell: 435-313-1667 | paul.hill@usu.edu

     

     

    Areas of Expertise:

    • Economic Development
    • Entrepreneurship
    • Innovation
    • Makerspaces
    • Leadership
    • STEM Education

    Workshops & Events

    • Code Camp (November)
    • Saint George Area Economic Summit (January)
    • FIRST LEGO League (August - February)
    • Founders Weekend (September)
    • Dixie Techs (Monthly Meet-ups)
    • Leadership Dixie (August - May)

    Rick Heflebower

    Rick Heflebower

    Extension Associate Professor
    Horticulture Faculty

    435-634-2690 | Cell: 435-632-7385 | rick.h@usu.edu

     

     

    Areas of Expertise:

    • Desert Horticulture
    • Landscape Installation and Maintenance
    • Arboriculture (Tree Care)
    • Master Gardeners
    • Fruit and Vegetables
    • Native Plants

    Classes and Workshops

    • Master Gardener Training (January-March)
    • Certified Nursery Professional (Fall)
    • Certified Arborist (as needed)
    • Pesticide Applicator Training (December-February)
    • Vegetable Gardening (Spring and Fall)
    • Lawn Care (September)

    Ben Scow

    Professional Practice Extension Assistant Professor

    435-634-5706 | Cell: 435-773-8182 | benjamin.scow@usu.edu

    Areas of Expertise:

    • Agriculture
    • Fruit Production
    • Natural Resources
    • 4-H Youth Development

    Workshops and Events:

    • Dixie Junior Livestock Show (April)
    • 4-H Horse Shows (March - August)
    • AZ/UT Range Livestock Workshop (April)
    • Small Animals Livestock Shows (August)  

    Brittany Bingeman

    Extension Assistant Professor

    435-634-2692 l Cell: 435-272-6294 l brittany.bingeman@usu.edu 

    Areas of Expertise:

    • Nutrition/Dietetics
    • Health/Wellness
    • Family and Consumer Science

    Miriam Force

    4-H Program Assistant 

    435-634-2695 | miriam.force@usu.edu

    Areas of Expertise:

    • Sewing and textiles
    • Cooking
    • Maker Projects
    • LEGO Robotics
    • Public Speaking
    • Leadership
    • Summer Camps

    Daylemarie Eves

    Food $ense -  Nutrition Education Assistant

    435-862-1774daylemarie.eves@usu.edu

    Kay Jean Mathews-Hales

    Staff Assistant - 4-H Enrollment and Support

    435-634-2693kay.mathews@usu.edu

    Becky Newman

    Office Manager - Staff Assistant - Financial Advisor

    435-634-5706 Ext 0  | becky.newman@usu.edu

    Andrea Schmutz

    4-H Teen Council Advisor 

    Cell: 435-817-6373 | andrea.schmutz@usu.edu