Campus-Based Faculty Directory

    Live Well Utah

    UPCOMING EVENTS

    View full calendar

    Campus-Based Faculty Directory

    Position

    Name

    Email

    Phone

    Vice President Kenneth White ken.white@usu.edu 435-797-2201
    Associate Vice President Brian
    Higginbotham
    brian.h@usu.edu 435-797-7276

    4-H

    Position

    Name

    Email

    Phone

    Director 4-H and Youth Programs,
    Extension Assistant Director
    Program management and development,
    risk management, and conflict resolution

    Kevin Kesler kevin.kesler@usu.edu 435-797-0930
    Assistant Director,
    4-H & Youth Programs

    4-H mentoring, professional development,
    teen leadership
    Craig Dart craig.dart@usu.edu 435-797-0208

    State 4-H Volunteer Specialist
    4-H volunteer development, healthy living

    Stacey MacArthur

    stacey.macarthur@usu.edu

    435-797-2202

    4-H STEM Program Specialist

    Science, Technology, Engineering,
    Math (STEM) programs for children/youth

    David Francis dave.francis@usu.edu 435-760-4109

    State 4-H Activities Coordinator
    Event planning and curricula

    Kelsey Romney kelsey.romney@usu.edu 435-797-2250

    State 4-H Agriculture and Livestock Programs
    4-H volunteer management, agriculture, livestock, Collegiate 4-H club advisor

    vacant vacant

    435-797-8442

           

    Agriculture & Horticulture

    Position

    Name

    Email

    Phone

    Agricultural Systems Technology & Education
    Ag Engineering & Pesticide Specialist

    Pesticides, agricultural engineering, energy
    efficiency, electrical powered equipment,
    agricultural structures, and agricultural safety

    Richard Beard richard.beard@usu.edu  435-797-0573

    Environmental Quality Specialist
    Animal waste management, air quality,
    water quality, AFO/CAFO regulations,
    and composting

    Rhonda Miller rhonda.miller@usu.edu  435-797-3772
    Program Director, 

    Agriculture in the Classroom
    Agricultural literacy education

    Denise 

    Stewardson

    denise.stewardson@usu.edu 435-797-1592
    Agronomy
    Agronomist

    Agronomy, irrigated and dryland
    agriculture, and crop management

    Earl Creech earl.creech@usu.edu 435-797-7319
    Animal Health
    Beef Specialist Matthew Garcia matt.garcia@usu.edu  435-797-2144
    Poultry Specialist

    Poultry health and disease, poultry
    management, and production

    David Frame david.frame@usu.edu 435-623-1402
    Veterinarian Equine &
    Food Animals Specialist

    Livestock (animal) health, 
    community agrosecurity planning

    Kerry Rood kerry.rood@usu.edu 435-797-1882
    Veterinarian Dairy Specialist

    Dairy cow, goat and sheep
    health, and epidemiology

    David Wilson david.wilson@usu.edu 435-797-7120
    Crop Production
    Fruit Specialist

    Tree fruits and berry crops

    Brent Black brent.black@usu.edu  435-797-2174
    Nuts and Fruits Specialist Teryl Roper teryl.roper@usu.edu  435-797-8698
    Vegetable Specialist

    Commercial vegetables and
    home gardening

    Dan Drost

    dan.drost@usu.edu 435-797-2258
    Dairy Production
    Dairy Youth Specialist

    4-H and FFA dairy judging contests,
    Junior Holstein Association shows,
    and activities

    Justin Jenson justin.jenson@usu.edu  435-245-6067
    Dairy Specialist

    Dairy management

    Allen Young allen.young@usu.edu  435-797-3763
    Economics
    Agriculture & Food Marketing Specialist

    Agricultural marketing, agribusiness
    development, and finance

    Kynda Curtis

    kynda.curtis@usu.edu

    435-797-0444

    Applied Economics Specialist
    Marketing of agricultural commodities,
    risk management, and beef cattle economics

    Dillon Feuz  dillon.feuz@usu.edu  435-797-2296

    Agriculture Entrepreneurship Specialist
    Agricultural entrepreneurship, tax issues,
    and community development

    Ruby Ward ruby.ward@usu.edu 435-797-2323
    Extension Economist Ryan Larsen ryan.larsen@usu.edu   
    Natural Resource and Regional Economics Specialist Paul Jakus paul.jakus@usu.edu 435-797-2309
    Equine
    Equine Specialist

    Equine health business management
    and equine breeding program

    Karl Hoopes karl.hoopes@usu.edu 435-535-5140
    Irrigation
    Irrigation Specialist

    Agriculture irrigation, urban irrigation,
    water resources, and water management

    Niel Allen n.allen@usu.edu 435-797-3926
    Landscape Horticulture & Design
    Water Conservation &
    Turfgrass Specialist

    Landscape water conservation, turfgrass
    outreach and education

    Kelly Kopp kelly.kopp@usu.edu  435-757-6650
    Landscape Horticulture Specialist Larry Rupp  larry.rupp@usu.edu  435-232-1158
    Landscape Architecture Specialist

    David Anderson

    david.anderson@usu.edu 

    435-797-1984
    Landsacpe Architecture Specialist David Evans

     david.evans@usu.edu 

    435-797-0508

    Plant Pest Management
    Entomology Specialist

    Integrated pest management in field
    crops, turf, and biological control of
    |arthropod pests

    Ricardo
    Ramirez
    ricardo.ramirez@usu.edu 435-797-8088
    Horticulture-Entomology Specialist

    Horticultural entomology, integrated pest
    management, and insect diagnostics

    Diane Alston diane.alston@usu.edu  435-797-2516
    Entomologist

    Control of ornamental, forest, urban, and
    structural pests, and identifying insects
    and arachnids

    Ryan Davis ryan.davis@usu.edu  435-797-2435
    Integrated Pest Management
    Project Leader

    IPM for ornamental plants, fruits,
    vegetables, andmanagement of insect
    and disease pests

    Marion Murray marion.murray@usu.edu  435-797-0776

    Plant Pathologist
    Detection, identification, and management of plant diseases

    Claudia
    Nischwitz
    claudia.nischwitz@usu.edu 435-797-7569
    CAPS Coordinator

    Utah Cooperative Agricultural Pest
    Survey (CAPS) program

    Lori Spears lori.spears@usu.edu  801-668-4056
    Soils
    Soils Specialist

    Soil fertility, quality, soil salinity
    management, and soil testing

    Grant Cardon grant.cardon@usu.edu  435-797-2278
    Soil Conservation Specialist

    Soil & water conservation, erosion, arid land reclamation/restoration, and
    sustainable agriculture

    Robert
    Newhall
    bob.newhall@usu.edu  435-797-2183
    Weeds    
    Weed Specialist
    Weed managment
    Corey Ransom corey.ransom@usu.edu  435-797-2242

    Position

    Name

    Email

    Phone

    Business
    State Director, Utah Small Business Development Center
    Management consultant
    Michael Finnerty mike.finnerty@usu.edu 435-919-1296
    Associate State Director, Utah Small Business Development Center
    Management consultant
    Jason Yerka jason.yerka@usu.edu 435-919-1296
    Director, Logan Small Business Development Center

    Management consultant

    Michael Young smike.young@usu.edu 435-797-3303
    Director, Uintah Small Business Development Center

    Management consultant

    Mark Holmes mark.holmes@usu.edu 435-789-6100
    ext 1179
    Business Analyst, Tooele Small Business Development Center

    Management consultant

    Ryen Salazar ryen.salazar@usu.edu  435-248-1892
    Community Development
    Accountability/Reporting/Youth Council

    Community surveys, youth city councils,
    program evaluations, and reporting

    Stan Guy stanley.guy@usu.edu 435-797-3221
    Community Resource Development Specialist

    Community collaboration, natural resource
    conflict management, and non-profits

    Steve Daniels

    steve.daniels@usu.edu 435-797-1255
    Latino Programs

    Latino Specialist
    Latino programming and outreach

    Celina Wille celina.wille@usu.edu  435-752-6263

    Position

    Name

    Email

    Phone

    Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program
    State Director, EFNEP

    Basic food and nutrition and paraprofessional job development

    Paula Scott paula.scott@usu.edu 801-451-3405
    Food Safety & Storage
    Food Quality & Entrepreneurship Specialist

    Entrepreneurship, food production,
    processing, and labeling

    Karin Allen karin.allen@usu.edu 435-797-1768

    Food Safety Specialist
    Food safety (home and retail), food
    preservation, food storage, and food
    safety education

    Brian Nummer

    brian.nummer@usu.edu

    435-797-2116

    Food $ense
    State Director, Food $ense

    Nutrition and food security

    Heidi LeBlanc heidi.leblanc@usu.edu 435-797-3923
    Marriage & Family Relations
    Family Relations Specialist

    Marriage, divorce, and remarriage

    Brian
    Higginbotham
    brian.h@usu.edu  435-797-7276
    Family Relations Specialist David Schramm david.schramm@usu.edu 

    435-797-8183

    Nutrition
    Nutrition Specialist

    Obesity and health, weight loss and
    nutrition behavior change

    Carrie Durward carrie.durward@usu.edu 435-797-5843

    Position

    Name

    Email

    Phone

    Forestry
    Forestry Specialist

    Forestry and trees (rural and urban), and forestry in the wildland/urban interface

    Michael Kuhns mike.kuhns@usu.edu 435-797-4056

    Forestry Program Associate
    Forestry education and woody
    biomass utilization

    Darren McAvoy darren.mcavoy@usu.edu

    435-797-0560

    Forestry Educator

    Megan Dettenmaier megan.dettenmaier@usu.edu 

    435-797-8424

    Utah Master Naturalist Program
    Extension Assistant Professor

    Environmental education programs

    Mark 

    Larese-Casanova

    marklc@usu.edu 435-760-6146
    Range
    Range Extension Specialist

    Grazing management, rangeland monitoring & wildlife-livestock interaction

    Eric Thacker eric.thacker@usu.edu 435-797-7874

    Livestock Behavior &
    Rangeland Specialist

    Beth Burritt

    beth.burritt@usu.edu 

    435-797-3576
    Recreation & Tourism
    Institute for Outdoor Recreation
    and Tourism 
    Director
    Rural, community and sustainable tourism development
    Jordan Smith jordan.smith@usu.edu 435-797-9174
    Sustainability
    Sustainable Communities Specialist

    Sustainable living, waste reduction, Utah farm-chef-fork, Sustainable You! 4-H camps, permaculture, and climate change

    Roslynn Brain roslynn.brain@usu.edu 435-797-5116
    Water Quality
    Water Quality Specialist

    Surface water quality, citizen monitoring
    and stem / environmental education

    Nancy Mesner nancy.mesner@usu.edu  435-797-7541
    Wildlife
    Wildlife Specialist
    Wildlife biology and managment
    David Dahlgren dave.dahlgren@usu.edu 

    435-881-1910

    Wildlife Specialist

    Wildlife biology, human-wildlife conflict
    resolution, and wildlife damage management

    Nicki Frey nicki.frey@usu.edu  435-586-1924
    Wildlife Specialist

    Human-wildlife conflicts and the
    management of wildlife damage

    Terry Messmer terry.messmer@usu.edu 435-797-3975

    Position

    Name

    Email

    Phone

    Western Rural Development Center
    Director

    Economic, energy, and sustainable
    development,
    public policy, and rural health

    Don Albrecht don.albrecht@usu.edu  435-797-2798
    Western Rural Development Center
    Assistant Director
    Editor, Rural Connections
    Betsy Newman betsy.newman@usu.edu 435-797-0218